PM Modi Cabinet Reshuffle

The much-awaited cabinet expansion is here. However, the first reshuffle in the Council of Ministers by Prime Minister Narendra Modi since he assumed charge for a second term in May 2019, is unpacking many unexpected moves, from the resignation of notable ministers to the induction of newer faces. While PM Modi is bringing in young faces and giving representation to various social groups and regions in the reshuffle, some older guns have been elevated from their previous posts. There are Five Big Surprises From Modi’s Cabinet Reshuffle.

The top 5 surprises of this cabinet reshuffle are

1. Harsh Vardhan, Ravi Shankar Prasad among others resigned

Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, Information & Technology Minister Ravi Shankar Prasad, Education Minister Ramesh Pokhriyal and Chemical & Fertilisers Minister D V Sadanand Gowda were among several Union Ministers who resigned on Wednesday ahead of the cabinet reshuffle in the evening, Health Minister Harsh Vardhan, whose handling of the COVID-19 crisis, among a devastating second wave that saw citizens’ struggle for oxygen, had drawn flak. Ravi Shankar Prasad was a spearheading the government’s new IT rules for which the government is at loggerheads with Twitter. Prakash Javdekar’s departure was also unexpected, given he was also the government’s spokesperson.

2. Jyotiraditya’s Induction

Mr Scindia has now made a comeback in the Union Cabinet. In March 2020, 22 MLAs of Congress led by Scindia resigned from the party and crossed over to the BJP, leading to the collapse of the then Kamal Nath-led government in Madhya Pradesh, which paved the way for the BJP to return to power again.

3. LJP’s Pashupati Paras is in Amid Chirag’s anger;

Pashupati Paras of Lok Janshakti Party, has also joined the Cabinet, prompting an outburst from his estranged nephew, Chirag Paswan, who said he had written to the Prime Minister requesting that Pashupati Paras must not be included as a Minister in his administration based on the LJP quota. Following the death of LJP founder Ram Vikas Paswan, the slot became vacant, amid a split in the party as well.


4. Elevation of existing Mos

Seven Mos independent charges are also set for elevation. Hardeep Singh Puri, Anurag Thakur, Kishan G Reddy are among these names that have taken their oaths into the new Council of Ministers.

5. Induction of Sarbananda Sonowal

After the Assam election this year, after which BJP formed the government again, Himanta Biswa Sarma was appointed as the state’s Chief Minister. Amid speculations at the time of his induction into a Central position. Sonowal has now been inducted into the Central Cabinet.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *