Incredible India

While planning an international visit, Indians need to apply for and get a visa, among other things. Well, we all know this, but did you know that even Indians need to obtain an Inner Line Permit (ILP) to visit certain places in their own country? Well, such permits are actually to visit sensitive places near the international border of India. This is done so that movement of people are regulated in those areas, tribal cultures are protected, and unsavoury incidents are minimised. So, here are some of the beautiful destinations in India where even Indians need a permit to enter.

1. Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh

Arunachal Pradesh shares its borders with Myanmar, Bhutan, and China. Therefore, the area being sensitive, every non-local will require an Inner Line Permit to visit this awesome destination. Those planning to travel can get the permit for protected areas from the resident commissioner, the Government of Arunachal Pradesh, from the following cities, i.e., New Delhi, Kolkata, Guwahati, and Shillong. While a single e-ILP or Group e-ILP will cost INR 100 per person for a maximum of 30 days, one can also obtain the permit online.

2. Nagaland


Nagaland shares its border with Myanmar to the east, and is home to around 16 tribes that are unique in their own way, and have their own distinct language, customs, and much more. Those seeking to visit this destination, will require an Inner Line Permit to visit it, which can be obtained from the deputy commissioner of Kohima, Dimapur, New Delhi, Mokokchung, Shillong, and Kolkata. Else, you can also get the permits online.

3. Mizoram


Mizoram shares a border with Myanmar and Bangladesh, and is home to several indigenous tribes. To visit this beautiful destination, it is mandatory that you have an inner line permit, which you can get from the liaison officer, government of Mizoram from the following cities, i.e., Silchar, Kolkata, Guwahati, Shillong, and New Delhi. However, those entering the state via flight, can get the special pass from the security officer on arrival at Lengpui Airport, Aizawl.Two types of ILP are available; one that is temporary, which remains valid for 15 days, while the other is the regular one, with a validity of six months.


4. Protected Areas In Sikkim

 Protected Areas In Sikkim

If you are seeking to visit the remote protected areas or the highest points, you will require a permit to do so. Reportedly, travellers will require permits for NathuLa Pass tour, Tsomgo-Baba Mandir trip, Dzongri trek, Singalila trek, Yumesamdong, Gurudongmar lake trip, Yumthang and Zero Point trip, and Thangu-Chopta Valley trip. The permits will be issued by the Tourism & Civil Aviation Department, and can be obtained at Bagdogra Airport and Rangpocheckpost. You can even take help of tour operators or travel agents to arrange the special permit.

5. Lakshadweep


All travellers will need a permit to visit Lakshadweep, as the Indian Union Territory keeps a check on the number of tourists visiting the paradise island. To get the permit, you will need a clearance certificate from a police station in your locality, along with all your identification documents. After getting the permit, you will have to submit it to the station house officer in Lakshadweep. One can get a permit online without much of a hassle.

Similar Posts

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *